Reviews

Season of the Knife - Kimu 

Setting the tone with four bold, minor key band crashes followed by intricate and enigmatic bass and a cosmic frequency, Ben Dalby opens his single, Season of the Knife with situational lyrics, “The shelves are empty, the gold is spent, the borders are closed, but the guards are bent…” 

The song expands with poetic nuance to encapsulate societal hypocrisies, elements of the human condition, existential questions and apocalyptic scenarios fused with Ben’s emotive performance and classic rock energy.

The composition has a rolling feel, taking us on an emotional journey with a similar in energy to tracks like House of the Rising Sun, although it is clear that Ben is creating a universe of his own. Fans of David Bowie will also definitely be able to connect with Season of the Knife. (Full review here)

Kimu, Karli Is My Uncle (June 10, 2022)

Season of the Knife - Saiid Zeidan 

Season of the knife is a genuine alternative rock single by ben Dalby. In his track Dalby uses rich descriptive lyrics that perfectly describes our reality in the current world order. His track is the perfect mix of nostalgic sadness and enlightenment that just brings joy to your face with the soul-crushing reality he is describing, not to mention the beat that perfectly fits the tone of the song. (Full review here)

Saiid Zeidan, Just Rock (June 10, 2022)

Season of the Knife - Robin Pierce 

Starting off it sounds like an angry punk-like lyric from the 70's, mixed with an angsty 60's protest song, and those are two kind of differing pulls which somehow you manage to fuse together. It is ... a nigh on perfect musical summation of the dystopian reality out there today. (Full interview from 31'0" here)

Robin Pierce, Southside Radio (May 25, 2022)

Tin Man - Rising Artists 

For a song titled, “Tin Man,” Ben Dalby’s new original single sure has a lot of heart. His is a protest song for the modern day, an outright assault on jadedness, isolation, and self-domestication. With the self-depricating introspection of John Lennon’s “Nowhere Man” and the upbeat energy of a pop-rock ballad, Dalby confesses his own struggle with a diminishing spirit while urging us all to grow more connected with the world, rather than merely shrinking it. ... his song offers both hope and redemption. Granted, Dalby’s protagonist doesn’t always win this battle. Despite every self-revelation and attempt at engaging with the outside world, he occasionally reverts to an insistence on control and safety. Yet the real source of promise is found in the upbeat music, which ebbs and flows in a reminder that such a journey is a constant process full of missteps and relapses. Mistakes don’t mean that, in Dalby’s words, we shouldn’t try to “Get up!”

Jacob Jahiel, Rising Artists (Aug 11, 2021)

Tin Man - Indie Music Blog 

'Tin Man' is the name of a new single by English artist Ben Dalby. This is a cheerful song about the versatility of life that not everyone wants to see in their own cage, where home and work are all they have. The song 'Tin Man' sounds with colorful merry rhythms inspired by the 80's era. Britpop style sounds are also felt in guitars and soft vocals. Ben sings playfully and sadly, surprised and happy. The musical animation 'Tin Man' unfolds the story of a man who is locked in his box and sees no way out into real life. Kaleidoscopic change of application images tells us about the grayness of his life. And so he breaks out of the vicious circle and runs into the space of freedom and adventure. He discovers a new world full of events and feelings. The song beautifully illustrates the lives of many desperate people in this life and gives inspiration and hope for radical change. Watch the music video 'Tin Man' below on YouTube and discover something new and uncharted as Ben Dalby did.

Vitalii, Indie Music Blog (Aug 04, 2021)

Tin Man - Zippy Frames 

Tin Man gets us from the grey, square room to a kaleidoscope of forms, plants and water, and even the space itself. It is grounded on reality and its photographed face profiles, but it plays cunningly with the possibilities of the cut-out elements. With a song beat that almost leads you to get up and move, and lyrics that remind of familiar insecurities, Tin Man is a small anthem to let yourself and enjoy what comes along in the process -in a vibrant form.

Vassilis Kroustallis, Zippy Frames (Jul 30, 2021)

Tact - Get Ready to ROCK! 

‘Tact’ is the latest single from Ben Dalby who has been gaining radio play steadily over the last couple of years. His style is described as eclectic which is fair as this latest release combines a bit of jangly indie rock with a ska horn section which come together to create a unique, happy sounding track which should ensure further airplay. One for the summer if we ever get any sun !

David Wilson, Get Ready to ROCK! (Jun 30, 2012)

Tact - Rhythm & Booze 

Tact ... is actually a gloriously frantic slab of horn assisted ska-tinged, indie-pop, delivered with a dose of biting attitude and a hook that nags for repeat spins. The urgency of Ben’s vocal and the bouncy horn and guitar interplay are just perfect for those hazy summer days and hedonistic nights and could well score Ben Dalby something of a festival anthem, whilst the driving rhythm is perfect for those “crank it up loud” in the car moments.

William Munn, Rhythm & Booze (May 22, 2012)

Champagne - Entertainment Focus 

Having taken the charts by storm last year with his single Doctor Can, Ben Dalby returns with his fourth single to date titled Champagne. Quirky pop is what Ben does best and this song is yet another great example of his pop sensibilities. There's something very Suede-like about this song. The tempo, the style seems to evoke memories of Brett Anderson &Co. Its a real catchy piece once more with some great slightly off kilter piano underpinning the melody and also creating some slight tension. Its a real happy tune with a cheery singalong chorus much like Doctor Can though the songs are certainly quite varied. Dalby shows us once more that he's a talent to watch this year as he reels the listener in with these hooks and also knows how to mix things up. We predict a very bright future for Mr. Dalby and hope to hear more of him. Not bad for an unsigned artist. Check him out. You won't be disappointed.

Justin, Entertainment Focus (Sep 13, 2010)

Champagne - Red Hot Velvet 

FIVE WORD REVIEW: Modern Romance At Its Best LOCATION: London and South East LINE UP: Ben Dalby (vocals) WHAT'S THE STORY?: If Ben Dalby’s first single doesn’t make you want to pretend to be James Dean or Marilyn Monroe (depending on your preference) then you’re not listening to it right. The simple, beautiful sentiment of the lyrics and the enchanting jazz piano will make you believe in love again. SOUNDS LIKE: A love story wherein Romeo and Juliet don’t have the financial, or moral, freedom to elope during the night but are still pretty bloody crazy about each other. YOU'LL LIKE THIS IF: You like emotion without cheese, imagination without saccharine sentiment, and elegance without pretension.

Ruth Franciszka Wallbank, Red Hot Velvet (Sep 09, 2010)